Municipal Authority & Sewer Service

About Sewerage Service in East Brandywine Township

Treatment Plant Applecross WWTP
Established in 1999, the East Brandywine Township Municipal Authority consists of five members, serving on a voluntary basis.  Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serve five year terms.  Current members are:  Michael Corbin, Chairman; Sandra Moser, Vice-Chairman; David Summers, Treasurer;  Donald Graewe; and David Whelihan.

The Municipal Authority currently operates and maintains two wastewater treatment facilities serving nearly 700 customers in the communities of Keats Glen/Delaware County Community College, Hopewell/Guthriesville, and Applecross (click here for a PDF map).  The Authority is also responsible for communicating and issuing regulations governing its systems and ensuring safe and reliable sanitary sewer operations.  Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month at 7:30 AM in the Municipal Building.

The quarterly sewer bills are mailed on the first day of January, April, July, and October, and payment is due within thirty days.  The Municipal Authority has found it necessary to adopt a firm policy with regard to delinquent accounts in order to encourage timely payment of user fees and to achieve uniformity and fairness among all the users.  A 10% late fee is applied if payment is not received by the due date on the invoice.  If the user charge plus the initial penalty is not paid within sixty days from the date of the invoice, an additional penalty of 15% of the user charge will be added to the bill.   The policy on late charges and attorney’s fees for collection of delinquent accounts may be viewed in its entirety at Resolution No. 1 of 2005.  Section 801 of the Sewer Use Resolution lists the materials that are prohibited from entering the sewer system, including non-biodegradable items, grease, flammable or volatile liquids, etc.  The connection of sump pumps to the sewer system is also strictly prohibited.